top of page


It all started at a barbecue in in 1978 when Don Beavis envisaged a cycling club that was more than just racing. One that was fun and incorporated weekday rides, tours and socialising as well as various racing disciplines. Now we're one of the biggest clubs in Australia with almost 500 members.


Sydney Cycling Club SCC Founder Don Beavis

Don Beavis was the President of Eastern Suburbs Amateur Cycling Club but was growing concerned about the ‘hard core’ racing attitude of that club. Don envisaged a club that looked upon cycling as more than just racing. He resigned his position and in good Australian tradition, hosted a barbecue with his riding friends to discuss the idea – and thus our club was born with a more holistic view of cycling, incorporating both sport and recreation.​


With riders sometimes racing interstate and even overseas, it was decided that the name Sydney would be identifiable anywhere and so the new club had a name.​


The founding members were Don Beavis; President/Secretary, Tom Wilhelm; Treasurer; and Bruno Sibilia; Race Secretary. The general members were Jack Browne, Alain Agullo, Gilbert Droz, John Manini, John Lovell-Jones, Michael Goulay, George Chalvin, Dave Stakes and Paul Montesin.


Sydney Cycling Club SCC woolen jersey 1979

Don Beavis also designed the club’s first jersey, which was produced by Mrs Christoff of Adelaide, and was 100% wool. However, unfortunately when it was wet, it would stretch out of shape and at times you would appear to be wearing a skirt. They would also shrink, unevenly of course, with the striped side shrinking more than the rest.

The chosen colours of red, white and blue were reflective of the club’s membership at that time (Australian, English and French).

Nowadays you might see some club members wearing a replica of the first jersey but made with modern materials that can cope better with wet weather. This new kit is reserved exclusively for our 'old boys' who owned the original wool version.


Heffrom Park Criterium

Club meetings were held at Sydney Bicycle & Motor Club, Wynyard Park. In 1979 the Bicycle & Motor Club was celebrating its centenary year, and SCC organised a criterium to coincide with that and the annual Festival of Sydney. The race circuit was along Hickson Road in The Rocks, and the race was called ‘Myer’s Cup Cycle Race’ with Kevin Nichols winning from Shane Sutton. 


The event was such a success that Don decided to look for another course where they could hold more regular crit races without the need for road closures. With the help of some members from Randwick Botany CC they illegally pulled down a few fences at a disused migrant hostel centre in Maroubra. By doing this they opened up an outstanding criterium course but didn’t realise how successful it would become. Heffron Park is now a Sydney racing institution. As well as hosting local amateur racing, Heffron has also seen world-class cyclists such as Manfred Otto, Mark Cavendish, Geraint Thomas, Caleb Ewan and many more.


The club’s first Time Trial Championships were held at Heffron Park on September 16th 1979 with Alain Agullo taking best time on this ‘tight’ circuit and was presented with a trophy for the occasion.